Three sports leaders for SSC board

KUCHING: Three heads of leading sports associations in Sarawak have been appointed by the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Solidarity as members of the Sarawak Sports Corporation (SSC) management board.

They are Dato Patrick Liew of the Sarawak Lawn Tennis Association, Mohamad Salleh Sani of the Sarawak Taekwondo Association (WTF) and Allen Wong Siew Poh of the Wushu Federation of Sarawak (WFS).

Liew, who has yet to receive the official letter on the appointment, acknowledged and appreciated the government’s confidence in him.

“I will discharge my responsibilities with total commitment for the development and betterment of sports in Sarawak,” said Liew who was also a management board member of both Sarawak State Sports Council and SSC from 2014-2016.

Also expressing his appreciation was Salleh who is now performing umrah (pilgrimage) in Mecca and Medina in Saudi Arabia.

“I am very grateful for the appointment. I hope I can contribute more towards for the betterment of sports in Sarawak. I wish to thank the State government for the appointment,” he said.

Meanwhile, Wong, who is also president of the Wushu Federation of Malaysia, was surprised with the appointment.

“I will do my best to assist in the management and I hope that all the sports will achieve our common goal in Sukma 2018 in Perak, which is to become the overall champion.

“I also fervently hope that WFS can succeed in obtaining the piece of land for its wushu centre,” he added.

The SSC management board is chaired by Minister of Youth, Sports and Solidarity Dato Sri Michael Manyin Jawong while the ministry’s permanent secretary Kameri Affandi is the deputy chairman.

Other board members are the State Secretary Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Morshidi Abdul Ghani or his nominee, assistant minister of Youth, Sports and Solidarity Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah or nominee, Public Works Department director or nominee, State Education Department director or nominee, Vice Chancellor of the University Malaysia Sarawak, Rector of University Teknologi MARA Kota Samarahan, Department of Youth and Sports Sarawaka director and the Sarawak Sports Commissioner.


Source: The Borneo Post

Sarawak Sports Corporation